Tales from the inferno in paradise.

4 06 2008

In three short weeks I will be departing Los Angeles and flying to the island of Hawai’i, also known as the Big Island. I’ll be living and working at the Hawaiian Volcano Observatory. This site will serve as my brain and image dump for my time on the island, and hopefully it will be informative and entertaining for all who peruse it.

The work I will be doing is aimed at producing the most complete geologic map ever of Mauna Loa, the world’s largest volcano. Each and every lava flow needs to be catalogued in painstaking detail. Of course, I’m just assisting with the project…the joy of life as a grad student, right? I’ll also be collecting and processing samples for paleomagnetic dating. There will be much more, I’m sure. For now that seems an adequate introduction. Once I get to the island I’ll update the site’s header image with something specific to Mauna Loa. For now, you’ll have to settle for an image of Kaho’olawe as seen during a sunset on Maui.

Actions

Information

7 responses

4 06 2008
Daniel

Yay! I’ll follow your Hawai’ian shenanigans from afar with a bit of envy. Good Luck!

4 06 2008
volcanosummer

Well, you’re always welcome to swing by…it’s only an ocean and a continent away. Hah. I’m glad you’ll be watching!

4 06 2008
Kristina

This is very exciting! This site is bookmarked and I will be checking it from my sidekick too. In the words of LOST, “I need to get back the island!” Hopefully sooner than later for me 🙂

6 06 2008
Awesome AJ (amanda deemer)

COOL! I am so glad you are doing a webpage about your trip! i’m excited to see what you do!!!

7 06 2008
melissa

you have the best luck!!!! i will be anticipating what will be some great writing from you and some awesome photos!!!

18 06 2008
volcanosummer

Thanks to all of you guys for commenting. It’s great that you’ll be reading. I wish you could come and visit, too!

1 07 2008
Ankle Mike

Jessie Wonderful pictures. I see your new backpack is working out…yeh?
Enjoy your Summer of FUN!!

Leave a Reply

