So it begins.

26 06 2008

I am exhausted, so this will be incredibly brief. My flight from LAX to Maui was delayed by close to 3 hours, but I still managed to make my connecting flight to Kona. Since HVO is on the opposite side of the island, it took us quite a while to run all of the necessary errands and get across. The three hour time change is hitting me hard, but I did edit a few pics for your perusal today. To see the full view just click on each picture. No science yet, so instead you’ll just get some good, old-fashioned volcanoes.

Haleakala volcano, Maui

This is Haleakala, the only active volcano on Maui. Calling it active is only semi-accurate, as it is in its final eruptive phase. It has not produced large lava flows in several hundred years. Haleakala’s end will likely come with one final eruption. After I changed planes in Kahului, Maui, we flew right by the caldera.

Hualalai volcano

This is Hualalai volcano. Summit views in the afternoon are rare since it’s usually cloudy by that time. Hualalai is situated further west than the other volcanoes on the island of Hawai’i.

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for:

Mauna Loa

Mauna Loa in all its glory. This is a view taken from the west of the volcano, looking east. I was actually on the Saddle Road between Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa when I shot this pic. HVO is actually on the side of the mountain that you cannot see from this vantage. Mauna Loa is also generally shy and tends to hide beneath a blanket of clouds. Fortunately for us, it decided to give us a treat.

Wow, I’m really drained. Tomorrow should be interesting. Science, science, here I come!

Actions

Information

5 responses

26 06 2008
kris

Spectacular. My breath got caught in my chest when I saw the first picture. I never realized how much I really, really feel detached not being in Hawaii. Even if we have to live on the beach, I’m going to move to Hawaii and never come back.

26 06 2008
volcanosummer

You should. This place is so amazing. I would wholeheartedly support your endeavor. 🙂

27 06 2008
Dad

Lovely pictures today, and we’re looking forward to seeing many more as the days go by.

27 06 2008
volcanosummer

Thanks! There will certainly be more to come.

29 06 2008
Cassandra

Wow, Jess, you’re so freaking lucky! Gorgeous pics (as always! hehe!). I’m so excited for you! =)

Leave a Reply

