Quick Plumage

14 07 2008

Kilauea painted quite a lovely picture last night, and even though I haven’t looked at my `Ainapo Trail pics I thought that you might enjoy these. They were taken slightly before midnight last night. The moon was nearly full and the stars were out en masse.

I told you it glowed at night.

And a slightly closer view:

That glow is intense.

I want to say thank you to everyone who has visited and/or commented. The incredibly positive response this site has garnered from family, friends, colleagues, and complete strangers is my motivation to continue publicly documenting my ongoing adventures in volcanology. I can’t believe it hasn’t even been three weeks yet!

`Ainapo Trail pics and story will appear tomorrow, I promise.

Oh, I should also mention that Okmok volcano in Alaska erupted today. The Alaska Volcano Observatory site has some interesting information about the eruption. One of their scientists has been here at HVO for a few weeks, and he was supposed to be on seismic watch at AVO today. The poor guy missed out! I’m crossing my fingers that we’ll have some explosive activity while I’m over here. It’s every volcanologist’s dream.

Actions

Information

6 responses

14 07 2008
Adam

Lovely images!

14 07 2008
Amehana

Those are great shots! Keep up the good work, and of course, be safe.

14 07 2008
aunt Shirley

Hi my dearest and only niece–

You are having quite an adventure, that’s for sure!! Take care and come back to us all in one piece!! Love ya, my dear, Aunt Shirley

14 07 2008
kris

Beautiful pictures, the sky is so blue! I think you are doing some incredible things with your life and I really admire you Jess.

14 07 2008
Dad

I hope the blisters and assorted other bumps and bruises are better today. I know you’re “aching” to get back into action (groan, I know), and those of us leading sedentary lives want to hear all about the next adventure.

15 07 2008
Cassandra

I 2nd your dad’s feelings about your owwies (yes, that is the technical term in parenthood). I had an idea what thes pics looked like given you mentioned them yesterday, but the sky is gorgeous! I… am… jealous! lol! But I love ya!

Leave a Reply

