Adventures in liquid hot magma!

12 08 2008

Ok, I’m lying a bit while referencing Austin Powers. I haven’t played with active lava…YET. Tomorrow we’re going to the active flow field and I’ll hopefully get to poke lava with a stick. Here are some pictures of the lava flows from Sunday to tide you over until I have an adventure to relate!

Here’s a lava pool on Kilauea’s flank called the Thanksgiving Eve Breakout (TEB) vent.

Here’s a flow issuing from TEB.

Bear in mind that these aren’t my photos, but rather pictures taken by one of our geologists on a helicopter overflight. I’ll have a much different perspective tomorrow…up close and personal, I hope!

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 08 2008
Kris

I’m speechless. Be careful out there!

13 08 2008
Cassandra

You get to *gasp* poke it!?? Won’t it melt and eat up said stick? Oh maybe even cause a lava fire like the pic-text you sent today? Be careful!!!!! I don’t want you to be a crispy Jess, ok?

Leave a Reply

